Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-07-2012, 04:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Sick Molly? Maybe due to a change in substrate

I have a 20 gallon tank which has been running for about a month now.
Temp - 78
pH - 68
GH - 0
KH - 240
NO2 - 0
NO3 - 0
Ammonia - 0
3 Rasbora, 4 Platy, 1 Black Molly, 1 Corey Catfish, 1 Plecostomus (Algae Eater)

Yesterday I changed the substrate from gravel to sand and since then the black molly has been sitting on the bottom and is very inactive. Usually he is in the middle or top of the tank and I can't figure out what is wrong with him. I feed them this morning and he came up to eat but then went back down and sat on the sand. Could he be stressed from the change in substrate? Could he be sick?
__________________

__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Hi and welcome!
Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Please read this ^^^
If the tank has been only running for a month I would assume ammonia or nitrite poisoning.
What are you using to test the water? If it is strips they are rubbish and can give highly inaccurate readings. I'd suggest a large water change to see if he/she livens up a bit.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks for your help. I do have those test strips and now your are the second person I've heard from about how inaccurate they are. My next stop at the store will be buying a better test kit. The pH test tho is in a test tube with a test solution, so I believe that to be correct. And as far as the ammonia I have a 4-6 week gauge that hangs on tank.

Yesterday I did a rather large water change when I took the gravel out before adding the sand. Added all the chemicals that I usually do and changed the water filter cartridge. Is another water change necessary?
__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by red_tide
Thanks for your help. I do have those test strips and now your are the second person I've heard from about how inaccurate they are. My next stop at the store will be buying a better test kit. The pH test tho is in a test tube with a test solution, so I believe that to be correct. And as far as the ammonia I have a 4-6 week gauge that hangs on tank.

Yesterday I did a rather large water change when I took the gravel out before adding the sand. Added all the chemicals that I usually do and changed the water filter cartridge. Is another water change necessary?
Those stick on ammonia thingies are inaccurate too I'm afraid. I'd suggest purchasing an API master test kit (liquid).

Changing the gravel and the filter cartridge would have set your cycle back significantly. Never change the cartridge. That is where most of the bacteria grows that is needed to keep a tank cycled. Instead just swish it in a bucket of tank water to clean.

What chemicals are you adding?
The only thing you need to add is something that dechlorinates.

If I fish is acting odd a water change is best.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
When I change that water I added the dechiorinates and I also add stress coat, and proper pH 7.0. And I will change the water shortly
__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by red_tide
When I change that water I added the dechiorinates and I also add stress coat, and proper pH 7.0. And I will change the water shortly
Ok don't mess with the pH. Fish can adapt to different pH as long as its stable. PH chemicals cause drastic changes in pH and this can make fish stressed, ill or die. No need for any stress coats either. Just use one product that dechlorinates.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, ick, molly, sick, sick molly, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PWC and Prime Mumma.of.two Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 75 08-12-2011 01:50 AM
I think my silver male molly is sick and knows it 1 LARA Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 19 07-25-2011 11:33 PM
What's the best bottom dweller substrate out there? vialznk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-17-2011 08:57 PM
My fish are sick!!! ninetreynine Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 07-12-2011 12:28 AM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.