Tank slowly dying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

caniac22

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Alright guys I'm new to the forums here. I've been browsing a lot of this site recently taking advice. I'm new to the fish scene and have had an aquarium for about a month and a half now, and now I'm in big doo doo. I originally started my 15 gallon tank with no fish and let the temp set and filter cycle empty and then around 3 days later I purchased 3 Boesemani Rainbows to start with. I originally received them from Petco and the staff there where pretty friendly with advice. They told me to do water changes around every 2 weeks and wait a month before adding any new fish so I did. Everything was fine until a month passed and I wanted new fish. So to complete my collection I picked up a rubber lip pleco and a rainbow shark from Petsmart.

At the same time my mom picked up another pleco for her tank and we were pretty happy. Well then 2 days later I noticed my moms fish looking pretty bad and they had white spots. I immediately went to petco to get the water tested and find out what was up. Well the tank got ich so the rep told us to crank up the water temp gradually to 83 degrees and also put salt in the water and do water changes. Well it scared me so I was frantically watching my fish for signs and what do you know a day later the spots where present so I felt pretty good starting the treatment early. So I go to bed wake up my moms fish are all dead and one of mine is hovering at the top gasping for air. I immediately lowered the water level to create a little more aeration in the tank. The boesemani eventually died the next morning.