Tetra fungus guard and filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tyrionsbeard

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I am new to this, so please bear with me.

So I have had a tank for about 6 month with goldfish in, after researching and getting used to cycles etc, my fish were doing well. I have a plec (Gary), red and white oranda (Rainbow Peach), black and orange fantail (Stripes) and a black moor goldfish (Hoggle).
Anyway, I went away for 2 weeks with a friend looking after the tank. I came back and the black Stripes had apparently just died the day before and had been replaced with an orange fantail (so my children wouldn't notice and get upset). My friend said they did water changes, I am not convinced. Rainbow peach was looking pretty slimey and looked like it had fin rot, while Hoggle seemed a bit lazy, slimey and not happy.

I immediately did a 50% water change, then a further 20% change today.

I went and bought a testing kit. pH 7.2, ammonia 0, nitrate may be just above zero (no where near the colour for 0.25ppm) and nitrate 20ppm. So as far as I am aware, these are good numbers. Whilst getting the testing kit, I was talking to the woman in the shop (privately owned) and she said that Tetra fungus guard and aquarium salt would help. She advised 3 tablets of the fungus guard straight into my 36 gallon tank. So I have done that.

But here is my question, I've searched, but can't find the answer anywhere. I have an aquaclear 50 filter, I have turned it off while i had the fungus guard dissolving. But how long should I leave it off for? I don't have the activated carbon insert, but the ammonia remover insert. I just don't know when to put the filter back on.

I hope I have made sense here!!!
Thanks in advance:fish2: