Utter disaster! my neons have ich!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sparkles12

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok I have a 5 gal tank with 5 neons. 3 of them have come down with the visible simptons of Ich.. I REALLy don't them want to die! I have the 'Quick Cure' brand for Ich, has anyone used that before? They all are healthy, they eat, swim, and occasionally chase each other across the tank. Anything I should be worried about? :( (P.S. I've added 2 and a little more drops of the med. because it says that I should put less for tetras, that right?)

My neons have ich as well.
I started treating them on Saturday. I can't tell you the name of the med I am using because I am not at home right now but it claims to be safe for them. So far they are ok but they don't seem happy.
I am new at this myself so I have no advice but I do wish you the best.

thanks.. I just hate it when fish suddenly get sick.. it worries me sick the entire week wondering if they'll make.. let's hope they do :)

Try to stay away from chemicals, most will have other side effects like killing off your biofilter. For ICH the best treatment I can suggest is heat. Take the tank temp up to 86 degrees and keep it their for two weeks. The ich will die, you have to keep it up for two weeks though even if the white spots go away. Sometimes aquarium salt (not marine salt) will help as well. I try to stay away from that too though. Hope this helps. Neons are very sensitive to water params and most chemicals.