Very sick peppered Cory! Out of ideas...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blue_Jay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My poor guy has been acting off for two weeks now. I'm still new to the fish hobby, and I've tried everything I've researched...

Sorry for how long this ended up...

I've had him about 6 months (the same amount of time the tank has been set up not counting the initial cycling) and he is about 2 years old, got him from a friend getting rid of her tank.

He was is a 25gal community tank (Fluvial 30 filter, 150gph, and an air bubbler). No other fish in the tank had problems. Water tested 7 pH, 0 Ammonia, 0 nitrites, and nitrates at 20. He lives with 8 blood fin tetras, 1 upsidedown catfish, 1 emerald cory and 1 balloon molly (all fish full grown adult sizes) and newest fish added was 2 months ago, the emerald.

In hind sight, his activity was less for couple days, but I moved him to the QT when I noticed him swimming awkwardly. Like his equilibrium was off. He then would occasionally swim quickly and erratically ("backflips" and darting back and forth, and up and down) until he would rest on the bottom, breathing heavily. (Note: he only breathed heavily after one of these episodes).

I initially thought swim bladder from reading. I had recently added freeze dried blood worms to the community tank's feeding (I did not pre-soak them, new lesson learned). In the QT I did the whole 3 day fast, followed by peas. No improvement. He has become very inactive, lays on the bottom, sometimes on his side. Will only move if "prodded" or to eat (he doesn't have a healthy appetite, but is eating some). Still has the erratic swimming when he does move.