White spots on neons tail fin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brookster123

Aquarium Advice Addict
Just noticed white spots on one of my neons, ntd or ich? It's schooling, eating and swimming fine.. Any ideas out there?

I'd say ick... But definitely separate that fish to a QT and observe closely. I'd also start the treatment.

Post a picture if you can. I'm not a pro but hopefully other people can share ideas and identify your problem.

How are your water parameters?

You should start to raise the temp your heater is set gradually to about 84 degrees and start doing large water changes every day or two. If your fish are all salt tolerant add a small amount of aquarium salt as well.

You should start to raise the temp your heater is set gradually to about 84 degrees and start doing large water changes every day or two. If your fish are all salt tolerant add a small amount of aquarium salt as well.
As far as salt with Cory's and a small bn Pleco? Quarantine is really not an option, wouldn't the entire tank already be infected?

I have used salt up to 1 tblsn per 5 gal on a b/n catfish. He is 4 inches long though and I tried increasing it in stages.

Doesn't sound like ntd but a photo would be great.

I have used salt up to 1 tblsn per 5 gal on a b/n catfish. He is 4 inches long though and I tried increasing it in stages. Doesn't sound like ntd but a photo would be great.
I'm 99% sure it's ich, makes sense with the new fish added a few days ago. I can't get any useful photos of the neon, just a blur every time.. I'm not about the salt though, I just bought some but I'm apprehensive with the plants and Cory's and bn..

I try to QT the worse fish but sometimes that also doesn't work so well (to hot, mucked up bb).