white stringy poo?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brittanykluss

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a dwarf blue flame gourami that has what I think looks like a long stringy white poo hanging on him that's been there for the last 2 days or so and he has been hiding in his cave when normally he's out swimming in the front of the glass. what could this be ?

Constipation? Try cooked peas with the hard outer shell removed. But I am not an expert, but it sounds similar to something that happened to my fish once.

Could be constipation or an internal parasite. Better to maybe fast him for a day or two and then try feeding the deshelled, thawed, unsalted frozen pea. If it doesn't get better after that you may need to isolate it and treat him with parasite meds.

I fed him a pea he ate a few bites and spit it out, i dont think he liked it that much lol.

I fed him a pea he ate a few bites and spit it out, i dont think he liked it that much lol.

lol I wouldn't feed him for a couple of days, let his digestion calm down and if he's constipated that will help. Then after two days of not eating try the pea again; if he still won't eat it then try some small amount of food. What do you usually feed him? Some food types are more prone to cause bloat/digestion issues.

If he isn't better after fasting then we'll have to look at other causes.

lol I wouldn't feed him for a couple of days, let his digestion calm down and if he's constipated that will help. Then after two days of not eating try the pea again; if he still won't eat it then try some small amount of food. What do you usually feed him? Some food types are more prone to cause bloat/digestion issues.

If he isn't better after fasting then we'll have to look at other causes.