Worms?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sharkbait_

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, I've noticed a few things in my tank recently that I'm concerned about and looking for help. This is my first attempt at a planted tank, and all I've added since it cycled is a betta and zebra nerite.

I saw a worm today as I was doing a water change. It was <1 cm long, white, and squirmy. Is it dangerous for my fish? I'm not sure how to identify it since I can't find it anymore, so I'm not sure what the best treatment is.

Secondly, there are lots of piles of little brown uniform things....the only explanation I can think of is snail poop. I attached a pic, but I'm hoping its not because it's really obvious against my sand and seems like a lot just for one snail.

Finally, I'm not sure if anyone can give me advice on plant lighting, but I have a 20 watt CFL bulb on my 11.4 gal, 18.9" tall tank. Plants started wilting, turning brown, etc right after I added them. One individual told me that even at ten hours of light a day, it's not enough light for the tank and that I need to buy a T5HO fixture. Is he right?

Thanks in advance, any advice is greatly appreciated!

image-740234609.jpg

It's poop, not sure if it's Betta or snail. It can show up on black substrate, though with time it breaks down and sinks into the substrate. If it bugs you, siphon it out with the water changes.

And the worm is likely not harmful. Detritus worm, most likely. Unless you see it stuck to the glass waving some tentacles around at the loose end, in which case it is hydra, which are not totally horrible unless you have fry or little shrimp. They can kill fry or baby shrimp.

Don't damage hydra, they are immortal &,you only get more hydra, each piece becomes a new one. Try to siphon them out if you have only one or two.