Worried about my pleco

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rich6459

Aquarium Advice Freak
I got a Pleco like two days ago, and i got home this morning and the Pleco was resting on the bottom of my tank (I have a 10 gallon tank. Tank is also new) and when he was on the glass as he was sucking he'd like slid down the glass to the bottom. I did a 25 water change today and filtered the particles out via vacuum. Please help I'm fairly new to this fishy stuff lol, and this is also my first post.

A pleco feeds/rests on the bottom and can occasionally "slide" down the glass. What kind of Pleco do you have? A 10 gallon might be a bit small depending on the type of Pleco. They can get quite big.

Welcome to AA btw! :D

Is a black one, I can't remember of the top of my head. About the tank I know, after like 6 months I want to get a 55 gallon tank (let me know if you know of a good store or what to get a new tank, I like in the Philly area.

Another question I have two red clawed crap in there as well, I found one upside down today. And it had a problem staying on the ground. After while it was acting a little more normal ( wasn't moving around as much as it did before). What could have the problem? Should I add anything to the water.

Welcome to AA!

Every now and then, a pleco will take a rest after cleaning the glass for a little while, he should get back and at em in no time, nothing to worry about.

Like said, a 10 gallon is small for plecos, even for the dwarf variety. A nerite snail is a good replacement though.

The crabs you got are not 'fully aquatic' specimens. You will either have to get rid of them or lower your tank level enough were they can get out of the water for a breath of fresh air.

So they are able to climb at the top and rest there for a few? If so, Im not sure whats wrong with them, wait for more input.