Aiptasia I think

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

superman1950s

Aquarium Advice Activist
I got a new piece of LR at my LFS and, well.... I think I have some aiptasia. My setup is FOWLR, so the part about damaging corals im not really worried. I just hope it does not do any damage to my tank. Here are some pics.

img_1611624_0_fe562b77d10464063e1877c6347a4743.jpg

img_1611624_1_f3b1f01a05645053c25e4e2adbbdfb9c.jpg

This is the largest piece I have. I do have about 4-5 more smaller ones on other pieces of LR. I'm new to saltwater so I'm still learning as I go.

Thanks,

they will not hurt your tank. they are anemones that happen to be brown and spread quickly. if they were better looking, people would be buying them from the LFS.

mr_X said:
they will not hurt your tank. they are anemones that happen to be brown and spread quickly. if they were better looking, people would be buying them from the LFS.

And **** near imposable to kill lol. I don't like the look of them so I try and kill them as I see them come up. I first hit them with lemon juice, if that dose not work boiling hot water takes care of them. (be very careful when using the boiling hot water) I only recommend this after all pumps are shut off and I only use very very little boiling water.

Definitely ap. use aiptasia x or peppermint shrimp. Aip x would work well when they r that accessible

Not trying to thread jack but, what is the "worse" thing to happen if I don't treat mine? I plan on just doing some anenomes and smaller lps. Nothing super expensive. No coral but I just don't want to totally make my tank look like crap....

Thanks all,

Travis