Help Identifying Hitchhikers? Pics

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Salukis97

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all. I've taken some pics of a few hitchhikers I've seen on some live rock I bought recently. I'm pretty sure these are nothing spectacular, but I am a newb to saltwater and would appreciate knowing if these are good guys or bad guys.

These guys disappear into little balls when the lights are off, then slowly come out when the lights come back on. I have no idea what it is.
54yupv.jpg

The next two pics are of the same type of critter, just on different rocks. Some sort of tube worms? It's the brown patch in the middle.
w8u8tw.jpg

2nbvvpz.jpg

Are these another type of worm?
nf4ljq.jpg

I'm guessing some sort of hair algae?
14mdxz7.jpg

And this is the only one that I'm fairly sure about. Feather Duster?
15nrvw8.jpg

Like I said, I really am not positive what any of these are. Do I need to get rid of any of these? Thanks

I agree with you on the last two pictures.

The third one from the bottom is definitely Colonial Hydroids.

I don't think picture 1 is the same type of thing as pictures 2 and 3. Your description for picture 1 makes it sound like a type of button polyp or zoanthid. Those will respond to light. Pictures 2 and 3 look more like Colonial Hydroids again. Colonial Hydroids won't care about light, but will respond very quickly by retracting into their tube if disturbed.

Colonial Hydroids can become a problem in tanks if the population gets out of control, but in small numbers they're not bad. I've got several little clumps in my tank and they don't bother anything. You can get rid of them by grabbing them with a pair of tweezers and pulling them off of your rock in a yanking/twisting motion. You might have a siphon tube handy to suck up any stragglers.

Pictures 2,3,4 look like