Help me identify please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Heathers.why

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, I am very new to saltwater aquariums. I have a 90 gallon tank. My boyfriend bought me three new pieces of live rock yesterday. One has a red an orange speckle that glows like hot lava when the blue light is on. You can't get it on a picture. Anyone know why? Also one has this pink and white hard bubble thing on it see photo. It had a few all white ones much smaller. Does anyone know what it is? Thanks in advance and I'm very excited to find this app

Last edited:
Pics I think

Sorry here it is...

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    252.4 KB · Views: 190
Looks like sponge of some sort. Depends on how long your tank has been up and running if its going to survive.

Thanks so much! Is there something i should be doing to help it survive? how will i know if it dies? My tank has only been up and running 9 weeks. I am very new but very excited to explore and learn. It has been an awesome learning experience so far.

Depends on how hardy it is. Cross your fingers and do a lot of water changes and read lots.

Just an update. Had some illness possibly in my tank and had to quarantine the fish however my pink sponge and also a beautiful white sponge have grown and thrived so far :) I guess good water quality (I had it tested professionally and it is spot on the money) and crossed fingers has done wonders :)

What test kit did they use on your water to assure you it was perfect? Who was the professional? Someone who worked at a tropical fish store?
IME, fish that succumb to disease are stressed by something beforehand.
Sponges live through days of shipping out of water and many other things and are no indication of good water quality.