Need help identifying whats on my new live rock.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jennlee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Can someone tell me what this thing is with tentacles? I'm new to salt water and just trying identify everything that hitchhiked

Attachments

• image-2131837423.jpg
    image-2131837423.jpg
    202.9 KB · Views: 178
I could definitely be wrong but I think it's apstasia?? Hopefully someone else chimes in! If it is, I've heard two good ways to get rid of them. Either boiling hot water injected into their mouths or apstasia-x.

Thanx that's what I was thinking. But was hoping not. I've been searching and coming up with many different types.

Can someone tell me what this thing is with tentacles? I'm new to salt water and just trying identify everything that hitchhiked

It is definitely aptasia. You need to very cautious in how you go about taking care of the problem. If you can remove from the tank whatever it is attached to that will be your best bet. Aptasia leaves behind petals and when you think you have killed one they can come back 3 fold or worse. One way to avoid this problem in the future is to really watch your nitrate levels and to acquire a natural predator. Some peppermint shrimp eat them but most likely a file fish will do the job and are hardy fish.

My peppermint shrimps took care of the one ( probably more unseen) we had no problems can't recommend them enough.

Thanx 'two rivers' I've been researching all day and was going to go with the Berghia nudibranch until I called both saltwater stores I deal with and they recommended peppermint shrimp as well and at half the price for a peppermint shrimp compared to a nudibranch I can get 2. My only concern was they would eat the rest of my anemones or good stuff if you will. There's some threads that say they will but most people say they haven't in their tank