New Lion fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

masonsmom

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got a lion fish yesterday and he will go to the bottom and breathe really hard then go swim around for a while, then got back to the bottom and on and on... i have a 3 stripe damsel in the tank... the lion fish is extremely small and so is the damsel i also have hermit crabs... I think my lion fish ate one of me hermit crabs.. do they do that? and is that normal behavior for a new fish.. because i am paranoid now i got a humu humu the other day and died 2 hours after i got him he didn't survive the change well.... what goes good with a lion fish? I will appreciate anyone's help!!! I am new at this...

What type of lion did you get? What size tank?
How old is the tank and what are your water parameters?
I have hermits with my lions and they don't bother them. I guess it's not impossible for your lion to have eaten one, but I find it unlikely. Even more unlikely since you just added him and it will probably take a few days for him to eat and get accustomed to the new tank.
As far as tank mates, it depends some on what type of lion you have, as well as tank size.

You know when I got him from the pet store they failed to tell me what kind he was... horrible i know but i got him for a good price... he didn't eat my crab he finally turned over... I don't test my own water i take it to a store all i know is that something is white.. and my salinitu is 1.022.... he is fine now i think he gets tired and just stops to rest.. he is a light colored lion fish with one antena thing on his eye.. he is about the size of a finger... do you know what type it could be... i let him acclimate for 20 min.... i let him stay in the bag and stuck the bag in the tank and he threw up while he was in there... any advice would be great....