Octopus Ok for tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ted

Aquarium Advice Regular
I got this Hitchhiker on my recent excursion to pick live rock. Do you guys think he is ok for my tank and if so is frozen foods enough?

Attachments

• DSC02907.jpg
    DSC02907.jpg
    219.7 KB · Views: 266
Octopus are considered expert only, and they are the ultimate escape artist. An almost sealed tank is required. That's about all I could tell you!
I saw one once at a LFS and wanted it really bad, but my mind beat out my heart.

i wanted on once. lfs told me eats everything in tank, has to be by itself and is hard to care for. i say keep it if u have a tank it might thrive in. they r cool. all i got was algae from my live rock.

I am a total beginner(6 weeks only) and he is only 1/2" large and my tank is a closed top acrylic SeaClear so for now he will live happy ever after.

Attachments

• DSC02904.jpg
    DSC02904.jpg
    253.9 KB · Views: 243
I would put some bricks on that top, and remove that flame angel before it gets eaten, and that hippo tang should not be in a tank 3 times that size.

Thanx for advise. I know the Hippo Tang should be in a larger tank. The octopus is the size of a pebble so for now Im not going to worry about it eating the flame angel which is 20 times the size.

Ok since I am a newbie to saltwater help me out, the Hippo Tang grows pretty large that I know, so for now I believe he will adapt to the 50gal.
In the meantime I can enjoy him then later get rid of him.
Nu-Nu what is your concern?