Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Identification
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-01-2004, 02:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Pls help identify this...is it an anemone?

These two creates were on some lr that I recently recd from liverocks.com. Can anyone tell me what they are?

Click here to see

Sorry pictures are a bit blurry... there are two things that I think are anemones..sorry I'm a total newbie at this.

Old 05-01-2004, 02:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

bad news... I think its an aptasia. ( not sure on spelling and id, im a newb)
You should probably get some advice from the pros soon.

Old 05-01-2004, 03:25 AM   #3
cj10488

Acording to Ron over at Liverocks.com Aipstatia are not found in the areas where their LR is collected and are supposed to be Rock Anemones... I have not had any issues with mine but In my Reef Tank I have always nuked them.. In my agressive setup I left them.. Its kinda up to you... Mine have never posed a problem nor have they gone and spread like mad.. If it were me and My Reef I would nuke It with some Joes Juice..

HTH<
James
Old 05-01-2004, 10:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

I've checked out a few pictures of "rock anemones" (Aiptasia), but I don't see a resemblance... not to say that it isn't, because I really don't know. Maybe they come in different varieties or something.

I always planned on only a fish system with live rock...so I don't think my lighting is sufficient to allow an anemone to thrive (65W pc SmartLite).

If it is a " gooe" anemone, I would like to do whatever I can to let it live..if not, I'll get rid of it.

Thanks for the comments!
Old 05-01-2004, 12:59 PM   #5
cj10488