Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Identification
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-08-2004, 12:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

very tiny white things on glass

forgive me, I'm new to saltwater, but I recently purchased a 100gal fishonly tank from a individual, and I have had it set up for almost 2 weeks & now these little very tiny white things are in the right front corner of the tank. I have looked on this site for possible match, but I don't think they look like any of the pictures of pods or worms that have been posted. They are too small to take a picture of. They look like grains of salt running on the glass, I do not see antenna's, they do not curl, I don't know what they r or what to do Any help would be greatly appreciated. Salt levels are fine, I kept most of his water & added about 20gals of new water, the only thing my nitrates are soaring, but everything else is 0 could I have a bad test maybe or is this possible?

I'm running a Bio Wheel, 2 Power Heads, Mag 350, Protein Skimmer, I do not have live rock yet, but I will start investing soon, I think the sand is live, but I'm not sure on that neither. I'm still learning about this tank, but upset over these critters in the tank.

Fish
Yellow Tang, Nemo- Clown, Dog Face Puffer, Firefish, Scooter Blenny, just purchased a choc. chip star and mandarin Goby, excuse the spelling, but I think that is what he is..

Old 07-08-2004, 12:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

The white things are pods or worms. It is a good sign that the tank is running right. They will not hurt anything. I had the sam question a few months back.

Old 07-08-2004, 12:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I would seriously consider taking the mandarin back to the LFS as it will starve without an abundance of LR in mature tank.