Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Identification
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-18-2006, 03:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

What is going on in my tank??? (PICTURES INCLUDED)

Hello all, I am new to salt water aquariums. I started up a few months back and until now, I haven't had any problems. First off, my tank has been turning green lately. I drained half the water about 3 weeks ago and replaced it with new. It stayed clear for a few days but now its back to having a green tint. Secondly, there are these hair like things growing on the rock as well as on the hermit crabs. Here are some pictures of the tank, the filters and the hairy rock. Please help me correct this. I havent lost any fish in about 3 - 4 months now.

THE TANK

THE FILTERS

THE HAIRY STUFF ON THE ROCKS

Thanks in advance for any help.

Tommy

Old 02-18-2006, 06:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

here are some more pictures of the hairy stuff on one of my hermit crabs. Please help me out.

Old 02-18-2006, 09:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Have you tested for nitrates lately?

My guess is your canister filters are trapping lots of nitrates and that's feeding the algae outbreak.

I'm not exactly sure what the hairy things are but they're most likely some kind of algae. Generally speaking, canister filters are not a good idea to use with saltwater aquariums. They can trap waste and release nitrates back into your system. If you do use canister filters...you have to change out the filters quite often.
Old 02-18-2006, 10:01 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek