Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > Show Off/Photography
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-11-2013, 10:06 AM   #181
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AaronW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Posts: 906
Not sure I don't really use Co2. I'll probably get one in the future perhaps. Once I go high light. I'm at a low light setup right now
__________________

__________________
AaronW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:12 AM   #182
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
EBRlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 30
I presume they mean you have to change the co2 canister, which would sound about right as mine ran out this morning lol, tbh I wouldn't waste your money on JBL co2 the only nice thing I've kept from the set is the regulator, I got a new glass diffuser from eBay for a fiver which is much better than the plastic spiral you get with the JBL set, I get much better co2 readings as well
__________________

__________________
EBRlove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:46 AM   #183
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AaronW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Posts: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by EBRlove
I presume they mean you have to change the co2 canister, which would sound about right as mine ran out this morning lol, tbh I wouldn't waste your money on JBL co2 the only nice thing I've kept from the set is the regulator, I got a new glass diffuser from eBay for a fiver which is much better than the plastic spiral you get with the JBL set, I get much better co2 readings as well
I plan on using Co2. Does it save money to use a tech approach or am u fine with just excel or glut DIY mix
__________________
AaronW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:57 AM   #184
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronW View Post

I plan on using Co2. Does it save money to use a tech approach or am u fine with just excel or glut DIY mix
Depends. People are successful with no Co2 but you really need to make sure your getting the right amount and not overdo it with ferts and light. I'm switching only because I have HC and micro swords which have remained quite stagnant for the few months they have been in my tank just using excel.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:31 PM   #185
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AaronW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Posts: 906
Well I want to carpet my tank for more cover for my rams. So I would need high light and co2 and I'm just not sure really what to do to grow that amount of plants
__________________
AaronW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 11:51 PM   #186
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Zactheninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 693
They have these at my lfs, i saw them and thought of this thread.
They're huge. 50 bucks each.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3268822887.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	177.0 KB
ID:	173366  
__________________
Zactheninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:03 AM   #187
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AaronW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Posts: 906
Those are awesome! But ouch 50 bucks is hurtful haha
__________________
AaronW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:26 PM   #188
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ddodad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 554
I just picked up 2 Bolivian rams today at the lfs. They didn't have a price asked the manager he had no clue, she said you're a great customer and I'm alone here. I'll give you a pair if you can grab me a coffee next door. So it cost me 2$ for them. I'm going to post pics later once acclimatized.
__________________
ddodad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:12 PM   #189
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddodad View Post
I just picked up 2 Bolivian rams today at the lfs. They didn't have a price asked the manager he had no clue, she said you're a great customer and I'm alone here. I'll give you a pair if you can grab me a coffee next door. So it cost me 2$ for them. I'm going to post pics later once acclimatized.
Wow that was lucky nice deal
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:08 PM   #190
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ddodad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 554
Here are my new Bolivian rams. The deal was so good I could t pass them up. In since noon and already seem to be fitting and and comfortable
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2932030653.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	178.0 KB
ID:	173541   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1256801998.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	164.4 KB
ID:	173542  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2508741042.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	153.1 KB
ID:	173543  
__________________

__________________
ddodad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hare, pics, rams

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.