Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > Show Off/Photography

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-08-2012, 08:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Finally switched over to sand!

Well, I finally switched two of my tanks over to sand and I'm loving it! I may just have to swap the rest of them over now...

Here's the before and after shots:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	beforeQA.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	87766   Click image for larger version

Name:	Queen Anne.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	87767  

Click image for larger version

Name:	JKbefore.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	87768   Click image for larger version

Name:	johanna karoline.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	87769  

Old 04-08-2012, 11:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Tank of the Month Award

Looks good, I have been using sand for two years, although it is very fine sand, similar to the texture of reef sand, natural white looks awesome need to make sure to have a good filter and vacuum regularly. It is more dense than allows for excellent bacteria, I have to watch for bad spots. Three months ago I bought the more granular sand which looks like yours in black to hide pots/roots and messiness, also looks cool!

I have just recently started up with planting. Did you directly put the roots into the sand or did you pot them or ???

Old 04-09-2012, 12:19 AM   #3

Thank you! I just love the sand, and it's so much easier to plant in too! Planting is so much fun. Some of the plants are tied onto the rocks or driftwood, the others are planted in the sand directly.
Old 04-09-2012, 01:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Tank of the Month Award

Thanks for the info.