Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > Show Off/Photography
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2012, 03:31 PM   #491
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjamontan
I was dealing with the same thing for a few months. I belive it to be bacteria. What I did was change from BRS GFO to Kent's marine as well as cut my lights back 2 hours a day. About three or four days later it was all gone.
I agree with all of that. BRS does carry a higher grade of GFO but I don't have any experience with it. I know their basic GFO is questionable.

How long do your lights stay on for Goby? If I remember it wasn't that long of a cycle but I have a memory like a rabbit tail.
__________________

__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:40 PM   #492
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorallineAlgae

I agree with all of that. BRS does carry a higher grade of GFO but I don't have any experience with it. I know their basic GFO is questionable.

How long do your lights stay on for Goby? If I remember it wasn't that long of a cycle but I have a memory like a rabbit tail.
Dont you need a reactor for GFO? I dont have one..

I think they are on from 10-8 pm? I know thats actually quite a bit. What should i turn them down too?
__________________

__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:09 PM   #493
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bearchumjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Red Mountain WA
Posts: 3,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gboy66

Dont you need a reactor for GFO? I dont have one..

I think they are on from 10-8 pm? I know thats actually quite a bit. What should i turn them down too?
I'm going to guess you can stick a pouch of it in your filter or something somewhere. I dont know though.
__________________
Some people like cucumbers better pickled.
Bearchumjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:43 PM   #494
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Yes you can. It won't be as effective but it will definitely work. Chemipure elite has Gfo in it and u just pop that stuff in a filter.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:08 PM   #495
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmorecowbell View Post
Yes you can. It won't be as effective but it will definitely work. Chemipure elite has Gfo in it and u just pop that stuff in a filter.
Absolutely. I'd recommend a fine mesh bag like an old Chemipure bag or The Bag from seachem. A coarse mesh bag can let out some fine particles that you really don't want in your tank.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gboy66 View Post
I think they are on from 10-8 pm? I know thats actually quite a bit. What should i turn them down too?
I'd leave tham as is for now. That isn't to long at all IMHO. It's probably phosphates anyway, unless your bulbs are getting old which I doubt.
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:12 PM   #496
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
If it's cyano lights not an issue... Only nutrients.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:27 PM   #497
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
I WAS happy with the new scape...until it started burning all my zoas and palys!! I need suggestions...!
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:28 PM   #498
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Move them. Down.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:35 PM   #499
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
I have, the ones doing poorly are at the sandbed. But idk what to do about the scape. I need rock to put them on and right now they are just too high.
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:36 PM   #500
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
I did. Im just not sure what to do about the scape
__________________

__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.