Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > Show Off/Photography
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2010, 11:19 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
Here is the 30gal DIY sump I made, with the 30gal that I upgraded from
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0162.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	201.5 KB
ID:	24358   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0163 (1).jpg
Views:	55
Size:	201.6 KB
ID:	24359  

__________________

__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 11:21 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
Lookin good. Just a thought, maybe you could add some more lr to the sump, but thats just optional, although the more filtration the better.
__________________

Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 11:23 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
I have been wanting to get more but money is tight right now. Live rock isn't cheap....lol. I only want to get some rubble for in there.
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 11:29 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
Yeah, I know what thats like lol.
Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 11:30 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
I keep looking on craigslist but not a lot around me
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:18 AM   #16
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Have you turned off the return pump to see what the water level in the sump would be like if a power outage occurred? I could be mistaken.. but from here it looks like there's hardly any room for water from the DT to fall back to without overflowing the sump. And looking at where the return line is placed in the DT, it only worries me more.

Just wondering...
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:23 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
Yes I have tested it, and also had the real thing happen. I have a check valve on the line so water only flows one way. I do however have to get a longer n tube so I can have the pump down on the floor of the sump. In your opinion where should my return line go into in my DT?
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:29 AM   #18
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Well i don't think you can change it now since it looks drilled right? But if i were you, i would have drilled it a few inches higher. My return line is drilled maybe 3 inches from the lip of the tank, with the loc-line stretching towards the surface of the water. I have minimal drainback with that setup and when my return shuts off i probably get about half a gallon of water draining back, which is nothing since there's about 3G of space in my 10G Fuge.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:33 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
No it is not drilled just up and over the lip. I will look into fixing it. thanks for your opinion. I appreciate all the help I can get
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:36 AM   #20
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Oh then.. actually, if it's sitting over the lip then you could definitely try and raise it just a couple inches.. but i thought that you don't get any drainage if you have the return line coming up and over the lip?
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.