New camera

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lando

Aquarium Advice Addict
I just up-graded my camera to the new Sony F828. I am just getting into photography so I wanted a camera I could grow into as I learned more. I went with the Sony becuase I already have the memory sticks from my old 3.2 cybershot and it uses the same battery as my digital camcorder. That saved my a lot of money. When you shoot pics do you do it in the dark with a lighted tank? Anytime of day? To flash or not to flash...that is the question. My pics under flash are too washed out looking. The colar is not realistic. With no flash the colors look better but the pics seem a little dark to me. Any tricks or advice? Thanks for your help...Lando

Hey Lando, great choice in camara. I have the same one. I find that the best pics i take are with the came flash on, and the tank lights off. I also get some nice pics with the tank lights on when i pre-set the White Balance. Im assuming you have a tripod, so set up your shot, focus, Fstop, etc. Then hold a coffee filter in front of the lens and set your white balance, and click away! HTH.

thanks for the advice. Believe it or not, i have shot over 300 pics the last couple of days. A lot of trial and error. I only have around 10 that I would consider decent. I will just keep shooting away and learn as I go. Anyone know of any good books on digital photography? Thanks

http://www.shortcourses.com/

Start reading the sony forum on www.dpreview.com

And there are several other links, as for hard back books, anything by John Shaw or Ansel Adams is awesome, they weren't digital photographers, but with the prosumer digicams, you need the basics of photography, just like film and the info provided will dramatically increase the quality of your images.