Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-08-2011, 01:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
110gallon tank sump

So I just got a 110 gallon tank for 100 bucks with stand and I need a sump for it. I'm going to build one but I need some help here. I have a 300gph pump already and an unused 10 gallon tank. How do I begin this
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
get something bigger than a 10g.Also your return pump is too small by the time you've taken into account the head loss it will probably only pump about 100g
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 05:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
I 2nd that. I have a 55 tall and a 10gallon is just to small. I'm in the process of going to a 15gallon for mine. What you need to account for is a power outtage or pump failure and how much overflow your sump can handle. My tank has a smaller surface area than a 55 gallon long and based on where my overflow box is I get over 5 gallons of back flow. You should be looking at a 30gallon probably.
__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 05:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbee2828 View Post
I 2nd that. I have a 55 tall and a 10gallon is just to small. I'm in the process of going to a 15gallon for mine. What you need to account for is a power outtage or pump failure and how much overflow your sump can handle. My tank has a smaller surface area than a 55 gallon long and based on where my overflow box is I get over 5 gallons of back flow. You should be looking at a 30gallon probably.

Why do you get that much back after a power cut?
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 06:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
Well you have to account for a few things that I forgot when building mine. #1 for me was pipe volume! I have a dual PVC overflow to a 1 1/4" and I bet it has 1 gallon+ in it at any given moment. You also have back flow from the return pipe even with a siphon break at the top (which I did drill). I have a 3/4" return and it probably have a 1/2 gallon in it.

You then have to figure out the volume over water above the rim of your overflow edge. You can calculate the volume with a site like this Volume Calculators - Unit Conversion, Calculates Volume - Cube, Cone, Cylinder, Square or Rectange Room, Pyramid, Ellipsoid, Sphere

My tank is 30"x18" and my overflow is about a 1/2" or so below the water line. That equals 270sq in which is roughly 1.2gallons. So if the power cuts I will get at least 3+ gallons of water into the sump. Add on the 5gallons in the tank, the pump and media displacement and I'm right at the rim in a failure. Also, you'll be topping that sump off now and then. I add about a liter a day or so. If you're off and add a bit to much one day then its just less room for error.

Mine is working fine but it makes me nervous so I'm upgrading. I'm also stuck with the footprint/size due to my stand. If I had a long I would do a longer sump because you can layout more chambers and such.
__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 01:53 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Okay do I understand how to do this now but how big of a pump would I need since its a 110g tank and its gonna be a 6foot rise
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Is it a dual overflow or just a single input? How big of a tank can you put underneath for the sump? The pump would have to be at least 950gph to match up with a single input. The overflow will only allow as much as it can handle to go into the sump. so therefore you can only ump so much based on that figure,
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
Is it a dual overflow or just a single input? How big of a tank can you put underneath for the sump? The pump would have to be at least 950gph to match up with a single input. The overflow will only allow as much as it can handle to go into the sump. so therefore you can only ump so much based on that figure,
Its a single and I'm gonna use a 10g sump and set it in a Rubbermaid tub
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 07:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbee2828 View Post
Well you have to account for a few things that I forgot when building mine. #1 for me was pipe volume! I have a dual PVC overflow to a 1 1/4" and I bet it has 1 gallon+ in it at any given moment. You also have back flow from the return pipe even with a siphon break at the top (which I did drill). I have a 3/4" return and it probably have a 1/2 gallon in it.

You then have to figure out the volume over water above the rim of your overflow edge. You can calculate the volume with a site like this Volume Calculators - Unit Conversion, Calculates Volume - Cube, Cone, Cylinder, Square or Rectange Room, Pyramid, Ellipsoid, Sphere

My tank is 30"x18" and my overflow is about a 1/2" or so below the water line. That equals 270sq in which is roughly 1.2gallons. So if the power cuts I will get at least 3+ gallons of water into the sump. Add on the 5gallons in the tank, the pump and media displacement and I'm right at the rim in a failure. Also, you'll be topping that sump off now and then. I add about a liter a day or so. If you're off and add a bit to much one day then its just less room for error.

Mine is working fine but it makes me nervous so I'm upgrading. I'm also stuck with the footprint/size due to my stand. If I had a long I would do a longer sump because you can layout more chambers and such.
Yeah I know of the reason why you get water down to the sump after power off,it just seemed you have a lot for a small tank.I have a 60g(uk) and only get about 1/2 g back,
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Come check out my build thread
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading tank l18amd Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-15-2011 08:40 PM
Upgrading tank l18amd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 11-15-2011 11:33 AM
Sump help!!!! For turle tank fishface23 DIY Projects 11 11-13-2011 10:29 PM
Sump Tank help iamkush Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 09-10-2011 08:10 PM
Sump on non drilled tank standridge32 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 09-01-2011 05:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.