125 reef build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Great tank, you must be a proud pappa cccapt...quick question.

When you are dealing with the kind of heat generated from 3 halides, I see that you ran water to your basement for gravity and cooling effect. But when you build a canopy out of wood, do you coat the interior of the canopy with a resin that is fire safe?

Wood canopies and halides make me nervous. Did you do anything special?

Thank you.

I only painted the inside of the canopy with a couple coats of exterior latex. The entire back side of the canopy is opened and I have 3 fans in there so I don't really have a heat problem. I've been using MH's in a wood canopy for close to 20 years and never had any issues. As long as it's well vented there really shouldn't be enough heat to cause a fire. The lights only raise my tank temp about 1-2 degrees depending on the temp in the house.

I just wanted to tell you that you have an awesome setup!! I was looking at your thread and seeing your sump in the basement was awesome!! That solved all my problems for auto topoff's and PWC's!! I have been trying to figure out how to get the pumps I need to run everything up into the main level and get all my wiring and such for level switches into the basement!! Now I know. Thanks for the great thread!!

It's been a while since I updated this thread. Everything has been running smooth. I have 2 projects to post. The 1st is done, the 2nd I'm still working on.

This is a Ranco 2 stage temp controller. You can buy them prewired or DIY. I paid $72 for a brand new unwired unit, while a prewired unit directly from the manufacturer is $125. TFP sells a 1 stage controller for $100. The unwired version comes with good instruction on how to wire it.

ranco_1.jpg

I took the top off and 1st started to connect the power wire.
ranco_2.jpg

ranco_3.jpg