Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-17-2015, 02:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

3D Background

I am new here and I have a perplexing question. I have recently purchased, from a friend, a 55 gallon tank and I want to make a 3D foam background for it. I have watched a ton of videos on youtube and think I have a solid idea of what I want to do. I am doing cliffs with an imbedded tree trunk with mangrove style roots. I am really only planting it with moss (Xmas and/or java) with star grass on the floor. However, I have a rather stupid question. How do I go about adhering the moss to the cliffs if it is underwater, or how do I keep the moss wet with cycled water if the tank is empty? Does that make sense? Any help will br graciously appreciated as I am rather new to the aquarium world.

Old 07-17-2015, 07:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

You can use any type aquarium safe glue, and if you're dong a dry start (growing plants out of water in their places and keeping moist) then you don't need to fasten them at all, as they will grow in and attach to their spots. You can use any fogger to keep it moist, and you just need declorinated water. That's about all there is to it. Any more questions and just feel free to ask!

(GBR pair, 3 amano shrimp and a whole bunch of snails!)
Nils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2015, 09:55 AM   #3

How do I glue down the moss and fill the tank immediately after I am done with water that won't kill my plants? Does the API Tap Water Conditioner work immediately? So I can glue everything down and then add water?
Old 07-18-2015, 04:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict