Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-30-2011, 11:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

3D background .... my first attempt

I am totally new to the cichlid thing but when I saw these backgrounds being done here I had to try.
rough pattern

cut and laid out on backerboard

after rough shaping

final shaping

First coat of drylok

After second coat stood up and I turned the flash off so that the shadows could show.

I still have to colour it , but its a start.

Old 04-30-2011, 01:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

its looking good! great start

Old 05-01-2011, 11:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

you are awesome. my first attempt probably wouldnt have made it to the tank. what kind of paint did you use? how did you carve it?
Old 05-02-2011, 12:57 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular

Thanks, I carved it with the knife in the one pic above and a razor blade. Then quite by acident I discovered that the black spray paint ate into the foam. Then I thought instead of drylok or concrete I would cover ot with Fiberglass resin. However I mixed it a tad hot and it ate the foam some more. But that left it with what I think is a really cool texture. Then I used the drylok afterall. Then just random spray colours 8 in all.

Painted.
Old 05-02-2011, 09:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Thanks, I carved it with the knife in the one pic above and a razor blade. Then quite by acident I discovered that the black spray paint ate into the foam. Then I thought instead of drylok or concrete I would cover ot with Fiberglass resin. However I mixed it a tad hot and it ate the foam some more. But that left it with what I think is a really cool texture. Then I used the drylok afterall. Then just random spray colours 8 in all.

Painted.