Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2012, 09:21 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Joliet, Il
Posts: 285
I just built myself a sand waterfall and am using stone river premium aquarium sand. I can't get the sand to flow right. What size aerator are you using to get that sand flow? I can get the sand to flow fine if I blow through the air line but not with my aerator.
__________________

__________________
owen0992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:31 PM   #22
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
I actually ended up running a line from a alita al-60 linear drive air pump that is running the tanks in the garage, so its massive.

I initially used a small pump but it wasn't nearly enough. If I had to get a new pump I'd opt for something rated for 75g or bigger tanks, you can always reduce flow with an adjuster.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:02 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 314
Looking good very nice
__________________
DWilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:41 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Destin FL
Posts: 10
is that for FW or SW?
__________________
FFreshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:18 AM   #25
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
It was FW initially but I switched it to SW with no issues.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:03 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Destin FL
Posts: 10
would i need to cycle the water longer?
__________________
FFreshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:53 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 404
That is awesome! Very cool!
__________________
twoodrough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:06 PM   #28
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFreshi View Post
would i need to cycle the water longer?
There's some writeups online that I found via google that gave me an idea of how to go about setting it up. Once everything was in place I did some big water changes and started adding fish. My setup ended up being a natural seawater tank though so it's not really along the lines of a normal sw tank.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3d background, background, build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.