40b stand build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jetajockey

come get me tang police!
So I had some display shelving that came out of a closed down LFS sitting in the garage for a while. It was not in the best shape, as it had been used for SW displays for a few decades, so it just sat there along a wall. However I did end up breaking it down and salvaging some of the wood, and with it I thought it'd be a great idea to make a stand for one of my 40b's out of reclaimed wood. I figure that the wood would like to be around fish once again, so why not?

I've never built a stand before on my own, so there was a lot of trial and error. This one is built entirely from reclaimed wood pieces, the only thing new on the stand is the screws and the stain. It's not beautiful and has plenty of rough edges, but I like it so far. Not done yet, but still working on it. I'll upload pics of the wood that I started with, but here it is after I got most of it put together.
img_2077070_0_80059ea697796a2fb0db3f28060d6681.jpg

Here's another photo after I got some more of the wood in place and the doors on. At this point it's just for looks, although the vertical pieces do help support the tank. It's kinda tall, around 3ft, but the vertical boards were already this length so I figured I'd just roll with it than have to make more cuts (which I am terrible at btw).
img_2077070_1_e9dbde2b7313a3eeae0f5aac432660dd.jpg

I'm currently in the process of staining the stand, I had to remove the doors and knock some of the paint off to get them to stain well. That's my current project, but I hope to be done with it in the next couple of days.

img_2077070_2_09176eccb0278021e02583c10004f827.jpg

Will update soon, stay tuned!

You have how many tanks and you've never built a stand on your own jeta lol? looking good though, its always nice being able to re use scrap wood.