Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-11-2003, 06:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
5 Hole Overflow

I'm starting to plan out my filtration system for my tank. I have 5 holes drilled in my weir, and I thought that a good plan would be two in takes, two returns and one used for running all my electric from the bottom of the stand to the canopy, what do you think?

For a sump, I was thinking of getting a large(35gal) rubbermaid container and cutting the lid inhalf and drilling two intake holes in the lid. The other half of the container, I would place my skimmer and pump. Am I on the right track?

Hers the layout of the overflow
__________________

__________________
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 06:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
Trying again
__________________

__________________
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 12:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
justDIY, any ideas?
__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 10:31 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
lots of folks use the rubbermaid containers for overflows so that shouldn't be a problem at all. Just consider the strength of the walls. If its a typical storage bin the walls will bow out some. My 22 gallon bins that i use for RO water bow considerably.

You may not need the lid at all. I think you'll find it to just be more hassle than its worth. IMO.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 12:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
two of each, drains and returns is a good plan, this way if one should get clogged for some reason, the other is still available.

as far as supplying power for your canopy from inside the tank, I think that would make it a bit difficult to remove the canopy. how about running the electric cord for the lights up along the outside-back of your tank, in the middle where your strainer weir is covering it. use some of those little stick-on cable clips, or some of that Panduit wire raceway.

using a rubber made container for a sump is a good idea - the only thing you will want to do it build it some sort of support to keep the sides from bulging out when it's full of water. The lid would help with this, but only if it remained intact... then you wouldn't be able to remove it without draining the water down.

also having the sump covered and the tank covered gives you no place for degasing and o2 absorbption. If it's going to be a heavily planted fw tank, then no degasing is needed, the plants will do it for you, but saltwater or fw fish only need a way to bring in fresh air. also, evaporation is the easiest and cheapest way to cool your water... a fan on the sump accomplishes this real well.
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 12:49 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
another thought on that 5th hole... make it a third drain. The typical point of failure on an overflow is the drain. Something clogs one and then the others have to try and compensate. Having a third, perhaps an inch above the others, will give you just one more level of no-flood insurance

now all you need to do... is find a way to hook up a bell or alarm to that third pipe so you know WHEN something is slowing down your overflows and you need to do something...
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 01:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
Thanks for the replies, guys!! Nice pickup on the "cant remove the canopy" justDIY.
Thats why I like to ask the experts. I just thought there may be a quick disconnect that I could buy for my lights, maybe not.

I've been looking for bulkheads on line and have come up with none. Can you fill me in on where to find them?

Thanks Billy for the tip on the 5th hole.

After the intake line passes the bottom the tank and before going into the sump is where I was going to install shutoff valves. Is that right or do I need to place them elsewhere?

One more question, do I use regular pvc below the tank for the intake line or do I use flex hose?

Thanks in Advance
__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 01:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
Heres a drawing of what I think will work for the intake pipes. I was told to put the elbows on with a hole drilled on top of the elbow to reduce the noise of the water going to the sump. Have you heard of this?
__________________
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 03:06 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
yes, thats basically a durso style standpipe. see justDIY's post on his slim overflow to see some good pics of a nice one he built as well as an answer to your bulkhead dilema.

maybe... justDIY, think that 1200gph overflow rate will be sufficient for his tank? justDIY set up an overflow with 2 3/4" standpipes and he's getting apx 600gph per pipe. You may need that 3rd stand pipe for normal flow depending on what size pump you use for the return.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 03:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
Yeah, that was another question, what size pump I would need for this overflow? The holes that are drilled are, 3, 1inch holes and 2, 3/4 inch holes for the return.
__________________

__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, hole, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hole In The Head Jambo4ever Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 08-26-2009 02:14 PM
Look what crawled out of a hole! jgross15656 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 7 10-28-2008 09:55 PM
filter hole help fastfly48 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-18-2005 08:04 AM
little hole LestWeForget13 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-09-2005 09:35 PM
Guppy in a hole paulc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-31-2005 06:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.