500 Gallons project, Help needed with overflow and sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magedsabri

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello Everyone :)

I'm not new to fish keeping in general but this is my first time trying a very large aquarium and sump system, I really need your thoughts about this project to modify anything if needed.

About the project:

500 Gallons freshwater "Planned for Severums mainly" it will be made as in-wall aquarium viewed from both sides, filtration will be based on sump system below the main display, drilled two holes on the side for the overflow pipes which will be moving the water down the pipes to the sump and 2 water pumps feeding a spray bar will be returning the water back to the tank.

* I have attached photos for the work in progress build.

Help and advise needed:

You can tell from the photos that my water level of course will be at the overflow holes level. What if because of water evaporation the water level went below the overflow hole, what will happen to the system, and if you have any advise on how I should setup my system in general please guide me.

Attachments

• Fish_Tank_1.jpg
    Fish_Tank_1.jpg
    167.2 KB · Views: 104
  • Fish_Tank_2.jpg
    Fish_Tank_2.jpg
    196.1 KB · Views: 116
  • Fish_Tank_3.jpg
    Fish_Tank_3.jpg
    183.5 KB · Views: 114
  • Fish_Tank_4.jpg
    Fish_Tank_4.jpg
    192.2 KB · Views: 110
I'm not experienced with sumps or setups like this but my guess is if there is no water going down the overflow pipe then the sump will run dry after awhile. The pump in the sump will continue to pump water into the tank until the sump is empty or below the pump level. Since you are doing such a beautiful setup have you thought about an auto top off system? Then you wouldn't have the worry of water levels falling.