Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-02-2010, 04:59 AM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
55 gallon

thinking about building a sump for my 55, whats a good size sump?
__________________

__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 05:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: s.cali
Posts: 788
Send a message via Yahoo to harmy4993
The biggest you can afford and fit. You can do a 10 gallon sump up to 100 gallon plus. There is not set size. Whatever the biggest that fits where you wanna put the sump is what is best. More water equals more stable enviroment
__________________

__________________
Daniel M.
follow my 75 gallon reef thread and say hello
75-gallon-reef-build-in-progress
fan of http://www.reefcleaners.org/
harmy4993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:52 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Are you putting it under the tank, or in the basement under the tank?
Totally agree with Daniel. The bigger water volume you can get the better off you are.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:57 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
I'm thinking of picking up a big clothes contain from wall mart as a sump. Yes its going under the tank in my basement.

What gph pump should I get, N what brand? I was thinking at 660 to 800 gph pump.
__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
Agree with the others as well. My only word of advice on top of that is be sure you don't get a sump that is to tall. Keep in mind that even if the sump will fit under the tank you will need room to fit your skimmer and other equipment in there. I know several people who put a sump that was two tall and then had trouble with getting their skimmer in and out.
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 12:06 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
Do u really need a skimmer in there?
__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 12:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
It is not required but it is helpful. Not saying you have to have one. If you do though just keep in mind that you will need room to work and do maintenance in your sump so leave enough space between the top of the sump and the lowest edge of the doors on your stand.
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:01 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Hioa about using a 12" high kiddie pool. Add some cc in one area, make a dsb in a 1/4 of it and use the rest as a reguium area and an area for heaters and proten skimmer. Use a couple of PHs to move water to any dead areas.
Pick up a few detrivore kits (IPSF, Inalnad Aquatics,, etc).
Then you can sell detrivore kits to others at is matures and you need to trim the macro.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:04 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
should it have 3 stage or 4?

1 stage for bio balls. one for heater, what about carbon?
__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:04 PM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
My Sump going to be this

http://i.walmartimages.com/i/p/00/07...58_500X500.jpg
Generous 90 Qt Capacity, about 22gallon. 34.88 L x 16.75 W x 13 H
__________________

__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debating a new (first) 20-gallon tank after too much 10-gallon angst alivenwell82 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 07-01-2009 01:46 AM
Can a 30 Gallon stand hold a 38/45 gallon tank? tropicalfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-30-2006 01:06 PM
Questions about 10 gallon refugium thingy for 55 gallon tank bigtard Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-27-2005 01:47 AM
Upgrading Tank... 10 Gallon to 12 Gallon Nano Cube Deluxe noone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-13-2005 03:21 PM
1.5 inches/gallon vs. 1 inch/gallon stocking level dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-15-2005 02:43 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.