A box with one wall...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Enki

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everybody,

I have an idea for a simple overflow tank mod, and I am hoping for some feedback.

I am no expert handyman :D. I like to keep it relatively simple, but why should the saltys have ALL the fun with PVC?

The tank I am designing for is a 40 gallon 'breeder' FW tank (36" x 18" x 17") with 2"-3" "pool filter sand" substrate. I am setting up for African shell dwelling cichlids, Lamprologus ocellatus, so the decor will be sand, shells and a few rocks. Not much stuff to hide pipes and heaters behind.

I want to use a canister filter. I want an overflow intake to avoid sand in the impeller. I like having my equipment hidden. What to do...

I've been playing around with a simple drawing program, to work out ideas, and I think I have hit on a winner. A single wall corner overflow 'box".

This is a sketch of the 'wall' cut from 1/4" acrylic, ~12" x ~16". The bottom corner notch is for the outlet pipe:

cflowwall.jpg

The wall is cemented into the corner at ~45 degree angle, cutting off 1 back corner from the rest of the tank.
cflowtop.jpg

The intake for the canister and the heater fit behind the wall and the output line runs down to the bottom, through the notch, and across the back bottom edge. The outlet line has 2 nozzles aligned to maximize water movement and surface agitation.

cflowfront1.jpg

The best part is, IMHO, with an opaque wall and substrate in the tank, almost everything is already hidden.

cflowfront2.jpg

So, what do you think? Am I reinventing the wheel? am I missing a fatal flaw? Do I have a winner?

Just make sure that your overflow holes let enough water through. Otherwise It might be like filling your bathtub at a rate that is more than the bathtub's overflow can handle (which equals a lot of water on the floor).