Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2011, 01:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
a few quick inline co2 reactor questions...

I am working on building an in line co2 reactor for my 75 gallon tank, it has a fluval fx5 filter.
1. How long should the co2 reactor be?
2. Do you have to have Bio balls in the main chamber?
__________________

__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
The longer the better... just remember it needs to be completely vertical. Another member used an FX5 and theirs was a little short, which caused some bubbles to make it to the tank. If you've got room, 2 feet would be sufficient. If not, bioballs might be a good idea. I don't have bioballs in mine, but I'm running an eheim 2224 on one, and a rena xp3 on the other.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516
The longer the better... just remember it needs to be completely vertical. Another member used an FX5 and theirs was a little short, which caused some bubbles to make it to the tank. If you've got room, 2 feet would be sufficient. If not, bioballs might be a good idea. I don't have bioballs in mine, but I'm running an eheim 2224 on one, and a rena xp3 on the other.
If I make it 24 inches long then I wont need Bio balls? My local fish store has a bucket of Bio balls that they may share some with me.
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I dont like the idea of bioballs in a reactor because it's sealed and you can't take them out and clean them. But, you might have to if you want to run the FX5 on full flow. I doubt you'd need them if you made it 24", but I couldn't say for sure having no personal experience with the FX5
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
I don't have my stand for the tank yet but I think I have enough room to make it 26" (better safe than sorry). Thanks for the quick response!
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
No problem. If I could remember who it was that built one for an FX5, I'd suggest you to PM them... but, there have been so many co2 related questions lately, I forget who is who.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, ick, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Long to use Quick Cure for? mikeybabs Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 03-29-2014 06:35 PM
A quick memorial thread mr.waffles1842 Aquaria Off-Topic 11 08-03-2011 03:12 PM
will my coryss die? quick answer plz!!!! allaboutfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-29-2011 11:55 AM
quick question fishdud Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-28-2011 09:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.