Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2015, 12:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Adding Pump To Python System

So I love my python but hate how much extra water it uses when I am dumping water. Do you guys think it would be possible to add a "T" or something to the line to add a external pump so that I won't have to use all that extra water? I figure I can add the "T" with a valve and open it so that I can pump water out and then turn it the other way to let water through the normal hose to refill the tank. Good idea? Has anyone done it?
__________________

__________________
dpetes123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 12:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Probably with something like this
http://static.coleparmer.com/large_images/0137358.jpg
__________________

__________________
dpetes123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 10:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 201
I turn the water on to start the siphon then turn it off and let the siphon do the work. Have you tried that? May not work in all cases. Flow is about the same as with water on in my case.
__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 09:58 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
evil Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
I turn the water on to start the siphon then turn it off and let the siphon do the work. Have you tried that? May not work in all cases. Flow is about the same as with water on in my case.
this is a neat tip. I actually always figured when the siphoning started it sort of blocked the faucet water off from constantly running but Im going to try this.

Also I thought about using the pump as well. Was going to pick up one of those cheapy drill chuck pumps with barbed hose connection to try it but got lazy.

http://www.amazon.com/Milescraft-Inc.../dp/B00F1ZJG5E
__________________
evil Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 10:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 201
Actually the running water just drains the water faster,but I have found little difference with the water off.Like the OP I didn't like wasting all that water.My tanks are high enough above the faucets I use.If they aren't you may not get enough siphon. Worth a try.
__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 09:10 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
evil Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
Actually the running water just drains the water faster,but I have found little difference with the water off.Like the OP I didn't like wasting all that water.My tanks are high enough above the faucets I use.If they aren't you may not get enough siphon. Worth a try.
hmmm Id say mine are about the same level as the faucet but the hose dips so siphoning without the water on may not work. Actually I know it wont since when I want it to stop I just shut off the faucet lol.
__________________
evil Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 10:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 47
First thing, on my planted tank I don't syphon the dirt. So what I've done is hook a plactic hose onto a fountain pump that I submerge in my tank and run the hose to the toilet or sink to get rid of the water. and then I run the pump in my bucket where I mix water and pump it back to my tank. Best thing I've done for my tank for sure. Makes a water change on my 125 incredibly quick and easy.
__________________

__________________
Criason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump, python, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safest way to do WC using DIY Python / Python, When do I add Prime?! philipraposo198 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 07-31-2014 04:23 PM
Temperature Control with Python System fishyrican General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 07-04-2005 10:35 AM
Python system for water changes? jps39 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 12-16-2004 10:48 PM
Python No-Spill System...and regular bathroom faucets PK Tester Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-01-2004 07:46 PM
Q for those with Python siphoning system or similar... illuminum Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 05-09-2004 11:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.