Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2008, 10:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 36
Exclamation Anyone add on to their power cords?

I am looking to add a power head to my freshwater setup, however the power cord will never make it down to my power strip. Is it as simple as cutting one off near the plug, attach additional power cord and solder, use some electrical tape too keep everything non-explosive , and call it done?

Any advice is much appreciated!
__________________

__________________
mordred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 11:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by mordred View Post
I am looking to add a power head to my freshwater setup, however the power cord will never make it down to my power strip. Is it as simple as cutting one off near the plug, attach additional power cord and solder, use some electrical tape too keep everything non-explosive , and call it done?

Any advice is much appreciated!
I have powerheads connected to my power strips why is you power strip so far away. Can you possibly move the power strip closer? Or move the tank closer to an outlet to avoid having to splice wires.
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 11:54 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Or just buy a small 2-3 ft extension cord Much easier than cutting into the wire.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 12:17 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, an extension cord would be better.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 09:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 36
My tank is pretty tall and I was trying to consolidate/keep tidy the number of wires going up the back channel of my tank.

From what has been posted so far it sounds like everyone just opts for the extension cord. Thanks for settling my curiosity...
__________________
mordred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 12:37 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You will still have the same amount of cords hanging off the back of your tank. I would also suggest a drip loop and make sure the extension cord plug is well sealed, so water can not get in there.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
death penalty, electrical cord, extend

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you hide the cables, cords, airlines, etc? undbulsu Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-22-2007 03:21 PM
2, 2x96 watt ballasts and cords newfound77951 Archive 4 11-17-2006 02:48 PM
cords and plugs EVERYWHERE RTV Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-23-2006 07:47 PM
Wave Making Power Head Add-On flanque Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-03-2004 10:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.