Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-02-2011, 12:05 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,286
Ok, just making sure. I saw a YouTube video if something like this but I dont remember what it was called
__________________

maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:49 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
Was it an open bottom aquarium?
__________________

__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:08 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Yes you can find them that way, you can check out my thread: open bottom tanks. Happy to answer some questions. Hope you post some pictures of your progress.
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 10:16 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Killernights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Quad-Cities, Illinois
Posts: 2
if both the tanks are at the same height then this would be simple....also if you want water to move through it just pump water from the one tank to the other through another line...water will flow back through the water bridge because the water will want to stay at the same height in each tank
__________________
Killernights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:01 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishkeeper26
Was it an open bottom aquarium?
No. It was a tunnel going up and above the tanks
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:36 AM   #26
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
i've heard of someone doing this with hamster tubes and silicone
__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 03:00 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
its alot simpler than that, simply build in screw/endcaps onto each outlet of your bridge, take outside, close off one end, invert so that outlets are facing up, fill with water so that theres little to no air, close off second outlet, take inside and flip back over. place outlets into their respective tanks, then simply unscrew the endcaps...just make sure your water level is atleast 1-2 inches ABOVE the outlet tubes.... physics will do the rest.


oh and if you have a canister filter, place the input tube in one tank, and the output tube on the other, itll create flow thru 1st tank, thru the bridge, into 2nd tank.... tada!! water bridge!!
__________________
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 03:03 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
http://www.bio-elite.com/waterbridge.htm -------check it out, actually pathetically simple... lol
__________________
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:27 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
But the tubes look so tacky the plexiglas box tunnel looks way better but then you have to pump the air out also my bridge is 3' feet long my filter won't reach my other tank I had to use a pump from a small waterfall decoration but it move water from one tank to the other perfectly
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 02:40 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
did you possibly think about using a single piece of clear PVC and having a local shop heat mold/bend the elbows so that the whole bridge is 1 piece?? just spitballing here but that would def look alot better and cleaner IMO. I think itd be absolutely astounding to apply this "bridge" idea to a 2-room idea, whereas you have 2 tanks on the same wall, but in different rooms, and build the bridge going thru the wall.. if done the conventional way with the round clear PVC, it wouldnt be too bad... but again just my thoughts. i have some normal white pvc laying around and i may fool around with it a bit soon to just try out some designs.
__________________

__________________
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqua bridge, bridge

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Planted Tanks - ADA vs. Do!Aqua vs. Mr. Aqua - Thoughts? Brian_Nano12g Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 03-24-2010 05:28 AM
making a aqua bridge aka connecting two fish tank via a fish bridge harshy DIY Projects 1 01-06-2009 07:11 PM
Water Bridge happyhillbilly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 09-28-2004 05:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.