Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-17-2014, 02:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
misfitstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southampton NJ
Posts: 37
Aquaponic set up

Hello everyone. Just joined the site and wanted to post a pic of my new aquaponics setup that my wife and I made. Runs out of a 55 gallon tank with gouramis and Cory cats. Water is amazingly clear for just the growbed filtration. Have soy, kale and spinach growing at the moment. Have it running on a flood and drain cycle. Pumping water 15 minutes every hour. Hoping to get some more fish in there. Already bought another container to make a second growbed.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1392661710581.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	206.3 KB
ID:	223171  
__________________

__________________
misfitstimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 03:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Looks good, but is the water level supposed to go up so high?
__________________

__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 03:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
misfitstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southampton NJ
Posts: 37
In the grow bed? Yes I have it on a flood and drain set up also gravel isn't even completely on sides

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
misfitstimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Ok, did you compare your nitrate/nitrite/ammo levels before and after the grow bed? I find it amazing how things balance out, and in this sort of setup being able to eat the end result is the cherry on top.
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
misfitstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southampton NJ
Posts: 37
Still not really far along with it but amazed at water quality. Its almost on par with my other tanks.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
misfitstimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 11:53 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Just keep in mind it's always better to have a little too much grow bed than not enough.
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 11:54 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
misfitstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southampton NJ
Posts: 37
Definitely

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
misfitstimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by misfitstimm View Post
Hello everyone. Just joined the site and wanted to post a pic of my new aquaponics setup that my wife and I made. Runs out of a 55 gallon tank with gouramis and Cory cats. Water is amazingly clear for just the growbed filtration. Have soy, kale and spinach growing at the moment. Have it running on a flood and drain cycle. Pumping water 15 minutes every hour. Hoping to get some more fish in there. Already bought another container to make a second growbed.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
What kind of container is that? I'm setting up a system on my 55 and I'm having difficulty finding a container for the grow bed. All the ones that fit my shelf are only 6" deep.
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 08:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
misfitstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southampton NJ
Posts: 37
Actually using a Christmas tree storage container. They were on sale at Aldi. Works perfect and the plastic is strong not brittle.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
misfitstimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Illinois Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 19
Good luck
__________________

__________________
Holey Rock....It looks so good!
Illinois Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.