Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-09-2014, 07:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Aquaponics set ups

I know I'm not the only one that has one of these, but I wanted to share!

I've got my 55, the 10 gallon on my dresser that is empty/cycling, and now one of my two aquaponics systems set up. The media was still damp from the previous set up it was in, so hopefully the cycle won't take long!

The blue containers are 35 gallon Rubbermaid totes from Wal-Mart. The pump is a 300 gph pond pump from Lowe's that I got a deal on, it's heavily turned down and will likely be replaced by a 100 gph pump when I get one for energy savings. The fill/drain cycle is 7 minutes for one complete fill/drain.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394404331009.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	226843   Click image for larger version

Name:	1394404483825.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	226844  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1394404529884.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	226845  
__________________

__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Love aquaponics setups! Yours are looking good, specially like the one outside. Hopefully I can set one up when I have space. Following, post photos when you get shoots!
__________________

__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Thanks, I've still got to pick up a grow light for the indoor set up. I added 5 mL of ammonia, which brought it up to 6 ppm. The grow media was still damp from the last time it was running (previous owner). I don't know if any bb are still alive, but I'm hoping that some are. Regardless I'll be pulling a sponge from my canister and burying it in the grow bed soon. Once the ammonia drops I'll feel comfortable introducing fish.

I was going to use goldfish, but I'm concerned about the size of my system. I only have 35 gallons, so I'm thinking maybe a bunch of rosy reds. I'm also thinking of starting some goldies in the 35 and then moving them outside because that system has a 70 gallon tank. I would grow food fish, but I just don't have enough room.
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 11:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Added the grow light today. 18 bucks at Wal-Mart today.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394503687659.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	227162  
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 11:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Yes that looks better, specially since the grow bed level is considerably lower than the top of the container! Hope to see crops soon, do you know what the minimun water volume is to grow tilapia or any other fish that can be eaten?
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 11:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
More than I have in there I'm sure. I'd reckon you would need like 300 gallons.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 10:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Picked up some broccoli and spinach today, the spacing is off because I have a sponge buried on one side of the media to kick start the cycle.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394587854043.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	227393  
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 10:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Did you plant those directly or did they come from seeds?
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 10:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,382
Very veryy cool bunny!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 10:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,475
Purchased seedlings

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaponics, set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post pics of QT set-ups TLTGF Saltwater Reef Aquaria 41 08-25-2011 09:07 PM
Post your malawi cichlid set ups here. Spoor3773 Cichlid Discussion 4 06-11-2011 11:53 AM
Looking for others opinions on my current cichlid set ups (90g and 40g) Arborist131 Cichlid Discussion 14 05-03-2011 08:45 PM
Lighting set ups. sgc0286 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-09-2010 07:54 PM
what do you think of these set-ups? dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-03-2005 04:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.