Aquarium/Terrarium Combo Question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Caufenkamp

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey!

I am a newbie here, have owned my fish for a good while. Sadly, while I was away, the person who was watching the fish did a terrible job. The fish Died.

That got me thinking if I wanted to get more fish or not. As a normal person, I went on the web to see other uses for my aquarium. It's a 20 Gallon Tank.

I then happened across terrarium's with reptiles in them. I thought that was a very cool thing to see. I then started wondering if it was possible to combine the two?

I have attached a picture of my idea so far. I'm unaware of if it will work or not though. I was curious if I could get some more experienced people to look at it and give me some tips or anything in regards.

If it will work, I need to come up with a compatible environment for the reptile/fish/plants so I'm not making the tank into a free for all eat everything match. I also need to find out what to use for the land base. Rocks/gravel/sand/etc.

I would appreciate all the help I can get here.

Regards

Attachments

• Rough Draft.jpg
    Rough Draft.jpg
    30.9 KB · Views: 123
First of all, what you are talking about is called a paludarium if you wanted to do more research for yourself. Second, in a 20 gallon tank, the water area would have to be much bigger than that if you wanted to keep fish in it. Third, poison dart frogs or a type of newt would be your best option for terrestrial animals.

For the land base, I recommend using the website Josh's Frogs. Buy their false bottom substrate, it's amazing. However, you could use plain aquarium gravel instead (But nothing with limestone). Then on top of the false bottom, place Josh's Frogs ABG mix substrate, as plants grow the best in it.