Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2015, 06:33 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: california
Posts: 199
Can i ask your tank size and the fish you have im doing the same with two different tanks one is a 55 gal goldfish tank and the other a 40 gal tropical community tank and the pothos are growing like weeds! Im actually considering building some type of hydroponics setup to see how much of the nitrates i can get rid of.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
lomeli562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 12:59 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,353
Nitrate Reducing Land Plants

Hello bg...

Start a more aggressive water change routine. That's the best way to reduce nitrates. Land plants will work, but the plant must have a large root ball with all the potting mixture removed. It also needs a constant source of oxygen to the roots. Pothos doesn't grow large enough to impact the nitrate levels in the water, it doesn't have a large enough root system.

Having a plant growing out of the filter is a nice conversation piece, but this plant isn't effective for nitrate control. If you want a land plant that's a real nitrate user, research Chinese evergreen.

B
__________________

__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 06:28 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
venymae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kansas, US
Posts: 1,069
This is a fun experiment. I have seen a fish store that kept pothos in the rear of their fish tanks (not just the filter) and had the roots growing down the back of the tank. Looks really cool once there are tons of established stems! I'm interested to see what you find in this fun endeavor!
venymae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 07:39 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bgmann12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 420
Thanks everyone it is a 20 long and had 2 bosemani rainbows and a cory catfish. A lot of people told me It wouldn't work but the results say otherwise. The nitrate started at 30-40 ppm and now is 10ppm with no water changes just topping of.
__________________
bgmann12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 12:37 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: california
Posts: 199
How long since your last water change?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
lomeli562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 03:27 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bgmann12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 420
In order to prove the concept I haven't done one since I put one the filter but still check nitrate once in a while
__________________
bgmann12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:57 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: california
Posts: 199
Im just asking from curiousity how many days have you been able to dodge the water changes lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
lomeli562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 05:18 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bgmann12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 420
It has been at least since the 23 of January because that is when I started the filter
__________________
bgmann12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 02:57 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishychick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 229
What did you do specifically? Did you just rest the plants in the filter? Or did you put something in for the roots to hold onto? Were the roots already established or did you use clippings? Sorry for all the questions. I'm sort of experimenting with the same thing.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
fishychick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 11:21 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bgmann12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 420
I went to lowes and got a small bag of river rock and a small pot of pothos. I took the cartridge out of the filter replaced it with the river rock and planted the pothos plants in the rock after rinsing the dirt of the roots. So,yes the plants already had roots.
__________________

__________________
bgmann12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, filter, nitrate, red

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pothos dying? kimmcannally Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 03-22-2013 07:37 PM
Nitrate reducing filter pads jones1483 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 05-01-2012 05:30 PM
Reducing output of pumps/reducing flow? picture_117 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-15-2011 12:20 AM
Pothos? Completely under water? sugarloves Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 01-18-2005 06:59 AM
Pothos in the acquarium LEB Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 07-21-2003 11:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.