Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-21-2011, 01:15 PM   #161
Aquarium Advice Activist

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Schamburg IL
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to Broke EF
I went with the 29WA-S Slimline background. My tank is already filled and cycling, so I was somewhat limited to the Slimline models. If I had a larger tank with more front to back room I would get a regular background, silicone it in, and hide all of my stuff behind it. I will almost certainly do that on my next tank.

It actually just arrived, and I couldn't be any happier. They have some excellent customer service over there! I will defiantly use them again!


Sean
__________________

__________________
Broke EF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:15 PM   #162
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
I had some time to work on the canopy this weekend and while I was cutting the lid I decided to build a shelf which I am still cursing myself for not doing it from day one. While I was painting the inside of the canopy I did the shelf as well. Unfortunately it required a break down of the sump plumbing to get the shelf in at an angle and up into the stand. It was worth it thought to not have food and gear all over my office As for the canopy, it's slow and steady. I'm cutting out the vents this week and hopefully mounting lights if time allows.

__________________

__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:07 AM   #163
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
So I happened upon a 15g tall this week and will be picking it up sometime this weekend. It just so happens that I noticed the acrylic box I made at the top has sprung a rather small, yet constant leak. So this has prompted me to redo the sump much sooner than I thought. Right now I have the tank pulled away from the wall and a few towels behind it to catch the drips down the side of the glass. Any suggestions on redoing it this time around? I have to redo my lower plumbing now because the drain won't go into the side like I have it.
__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:10 PM   #164
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
Some quick updates tonight. I had a little time this weekend to start on the top of the canopy. I cut out holes for the vents and handle and came up with a crude mount for the lights. Basically, the fixtures have adjustable side legs so I just cut some wood and ran the legs through. The wood will be screwed inside the lid. I also snagged a 15gallon tall on Craigslist for $20.

I'm starting to get discouraged with the build though. I'm not looking forward to redoing the lower plumbing or the sump again. I'm also just really frustrated with how much I have to dick with the valves to adjust the flow every time I turn off the tank to clean or anything else. The ball valves only allow you to adjust the flow but so fine. I need something else I can adjust even more slight.





__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 03:14 PM   #165
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Something doesn't sound right. You should be able to adjust the flow once and just leave it, even when you do pwc's. The last sump chamber should show your water level, just mark it with a piece of tape and add/take out water till you reach the same water line.. you should always have the same flow with the same amount of water.. no need to readjust.

Don't give up!
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 03:33 PM   #166
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
What's happening, because it's only 10g, is that the water level is right at the rim when I shut off the pump and let it overflow until the last drop. So in order to not be freaked out like that, I have to shut off the overflow valve and then shut down the pump. So when I turn it all on again it usually takes a few hours on and off of playing around to get it right. When I redo the system this month with the 15gal I'am going to have 2 valves on the overflow. 1 to adjust flow and the other to turn it off. That way (hopefully) when I cut it back on it stays at the same rate and I don't have to play around with the fin tuned one. Make sense?
__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:14 PM   #167
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ozydego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 187
I was reading another site with a guy building a 300 gal discus tank, but he posted this link to a silent and fail safe sump, I don't know if it would work on the smaller scale, but definitely was an interesting read, it also mentioned that the settings were much less picky....
http://www.beananimal.com/projects/s...ow-system.aspx
__________________
Ozydego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:29 PM   #168
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
ah... to have a drilled tank...
__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:16 PM   #169
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ozydego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 187
OIC, missed that small detail, in my mind, I saw the pipes going over the top, but not after looking again... It's still a good concept to read though, I'm nowhere close to this and still learned from it...
__________________
Ozydego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 11:55 PM   #170
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
Well I finished painting and assembling the canopy today. It was just a ton of work finishing everything, running the wire neat, attaching the hinges and messing with the handle and lid supports. But it's done and on. The lift supports turned out to be a huge fail. I ended up removing them and cutting a dowel like an old car engine hood I will post pictures tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, build, cichlid, ich, malawi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not quite so heavy duty tank cabinet build. zparticle DIY Projects 64 08-22-2011 12:12 AM
75 Gallon cichlid tank F1guy Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 28 08-10-2011 11:58 AM
Malawi cichlid st. Louis mo. HAVAMAL General Retailers 0 07-25-2011 09:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.