Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2011, 12:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Badfishofbabylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 362
Brute mix station?

I am going to be setting up a mix station and wanted to use 2 44 gal. Rubbermaid Brute Containers. But I read some where that they can slow poison your water if they are not food storage safe. I know I have seen many mixing stations using them, so has any one heard of "food storage safe" Brutes or are they all food storage safe? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Badfishofbabylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:35 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Brute is NSF safe for potable water. If you look at the Brute you will see NSF imprinted on it.
44-Gallon Brute® Utility Container with Venting Channels, NSF Certified, Standards #21 “Thermoplastic Refuse Containers.”, Blue (RCP 2643-60 BLU)
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Badfishofbabylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 362
Cool cool, just picked up 2 from home depot for $30 each.
__________________
Badfishofbabylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
i was literally just looking at that same garbage can on lowes.com i'm going to go pick one up today so i can mix some SW ive been using this 5G bucket but i need to mix more and store it
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 08:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Badfishofbabylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 362
I just set up My RO/DI last night, now I have to buy a pump and it will be all set to go
__________________
Badfishofbabylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decided to build a water testing station InfernoST Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 05-26-2009 06:10 AM
To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS evercl92 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 10-22-2007 11:54 PM
my little cleaning station quarryshark Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-20-2004 08:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.