Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-28-2003, 10:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via MSN to Brisc0
Calling all DIY, want input on PC retro idea

Okay, here is the scoop. I am setting up a new aquarium and already have a Custom Sealife 48" PC/moon-lite it has 2X65W 10K's and 2X65 watt blues. I have since decided that I want to put a halide bulb in the mix, but have no room up top for halide. So im looking for any input regarding ditching one of the 65W 10K bulbs and mounting a single 250W halide retro kit in its place. I have no experience with Halide and don't know if it will be okay to have a "resting on glass" light fixture with halide that close, etc. Any input would be great. Thanks everyone!

-105G SPS Reef with 30G Sump/Fuge Combo
-30G LTAnemonarium with mated porcelain crabs, 10 sexy shrimp, and 2 pink skunks all tied into the other 135G in my system.
Brisc0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 10:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

outer envelope of a metal halide bulb reaches about 500 degrees F ... it shouldn't be resting on anything or have anything withing 2" of it

also, if your tank is 4ft across, you'll have a bright area surrounded by shadow without using 2 MH bulbs.

Old 12-28-2003, 10:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Okay, thanks for the info, I guess that idea is not going to work. If you have any suggestions for me on any kits or fixtures that would allow me to squeeze a 175 at each end I would appreciate it. I have a wooden canopy over the tank. If possible I could mount a braket into the front of the canopy where it opens and hook the lights up there. However I guess a 500 degree reflector bolted to a piece of wood isn't a good idea. Oh well, anyone has suggestions im all ears.

Thanks.