Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-11-2005, 01:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to DragonForce
Can i use this ballast?

This is a ballast i got for a metal halide setup but i dont think its compatable.
Anyone know what the plug is for?
__________________

__________________
DragonForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 03:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
It likely went to the 227V wiring done were it was removed from.. HTH
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 03:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to DragonForce
Thanks for your reply again, think I can cut it and wire it up to an extension cord?
__________________
DragonForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 03:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I would talk to an electrition on how to obtain 277V.. In the US home wiring only has 120 and 240V(a breaker that spans both power stips on your breaker box) going to the mains in your homes box.. unless that ballast is multi-tap in other words can be rewired to use 120 or 240V I have no clue how your going to use it.. HTH
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 04:22 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
What you could use is a custom step down transformer.. rated for the needed wattage..
I wouldnt pay more then say $40 (comparing to other step downs that are more common and mass produced, adjusted for less cost for less wattage and more cost for the custom made). I found a link..
175 watts step-down from 277V to 120V.
http://www.temcotransformer.com/step...nsformers.html
HTH
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ballast

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is a ballast? fishmonkey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 07-23-2009 01:02 PM
MH ballast tamra&steven General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-22-2009 10:01 AM
Ballast help hyewiz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-15-2007 12:03 PM
MH Ballast JohnNLuc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-21-2005 05:10 PM
Need a new ballast - But where to get? Tiffi General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-13-2005 11:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.