Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2006, 04:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Can this work with a fluval FX5?

Hi everyone,

I have a Fluval FX5 which I've discovered is pretty useless for my SW tank but I want to make use of it still.

I was thinking of trying to set up a refugium that's about 30g or so and using my Fluval to pump it. I wasn't sure if it's too much flow or not though.

Planned setup:
Tank overflow to 30g aquarium on floor --> fluval intake in 30g--> fluval output into main tank.

The fluval flow rate is about 900gph... so I don't know if this intake is too strong for the 30g tank or not.

Does anyone have any opinions?
__________________

__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 08:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I'm a freshie so can't speak from personal experience with refugiums. But if the intake is in the 30 gal and the output into the main tank, I would think it would be ok. Any idea how fast the water would flow from the main tank to the refugium? As I said I've never worked with a refugium, but I have a FX5. As long as the overflow from the main tank would remain constant and keep up you should be fine. You could set it up and test it I suppose and if it didn't work dismantle it again. A bit of work but not too much I would think to see if it works.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 08:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 328
it would work. you could keep the FX5 chamber empty, and have it running and put your heater inside the FX5 or something. Also, MAKE SURE that your overflow keeps up with the high water flow. If it does not, your 30 gallons of water in the refugium will come out and make a mess.
__________________
---
75 Gallon
Rena FilStar xP3, Aquarium Systems Visi-Therm 200W (2), Coralife 48" Aqualight 260W 6700K
---
10 Gallon Hexagon
Hagen AquaClear 30, Visi-Therm Deluxe 50, DIY CF 20W 6500K CF, Hagen Natural CO2 System :: Bloodfin Tetra (1), Red-eye Tetra (3), Black Skirt Tetra (3), Harlequin Rasbora (6), Platy (1), Otocinclus Catfish (1) :: Rotala Indica, Hygrophila Difformis (Wisteria), Cabomba Carolinia
---
tropicalfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 12:51 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
I'd probably just stick my heaters and protein skimmer on the refugium tank. It's not even a refugium per se, simply a tank of water on the ground that would make water changes a heck of a lot easier

So the only concern really is having an overflow siphon that can keep up with the Fluval FX5 flowrate? I have no idea how they work so I'll have to investigate. Unfortunately, I think the FX5 can only go at full power
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 05:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squawkbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Try it - you can pull the trays and toss some nylon pot scrubbers in there - more biomedia, modest flow hit.
squawkbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
The FX5 can have the flow adjusted on the tubes that go into the cannister. Whether this would make a huge difference I don't know. The cannister flows slower full of media rather than empty.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 12:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagz
The FX5 can have the flow adjusted on the tubes that go into the cannister. Whether this would make a huge difference I don't know. The cannister flows slower full of media rather than empty.
Are you suggesting half-closing the locking valves?

And it definitley pumps slower full of media... it's just that I don't want to create a nitrate factory
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 12:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Yes half closing the locking valve slows the flow. I'm not sure it would do enough to make a significant difference though. I'll be interested in how you make out. I'm sure it will work providing the overflow can flow fast enough.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 12:37 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Also, how would you prime the system if the intake is at the same level or barely under the refugium and the output in the main tank well above the canister level? And what protection would you have in place so that if the power went out, that you wouldn't get a back-siphon from the tank back to the refugium, and cause it to overflow?
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 12:41 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
The FX5 is self priming, you can start the motor for a minute and the cannister primes itself.
The power issue is a very good point.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval fx5, fx5, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval Fx5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 05-08-2008 12:56 PM
Fluval FX5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 18 01-17-2008 06:26 PM
Fluval FX5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-24-2007 04:03 PM
Fluval FX5 wobbles General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-22-2007 09:27 PM
FLUVAL FX5 Going back to lfs! trotty Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 04-08-2006 12:01 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.