Cheap LED Refugium Light Project

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbing27

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've got a 24 gal Nano Cube and I would grow chaeto in one of the built in chambers in the back of the tank. I've seen pictures of projects where a window of the black vinyl was cut away from the tank, exposing the clear acrylic so that a light source behind the tank could get to the vegetation growing inside. I just wasn't excited about adding another electronic device to my unit that had inefficient bulbs that had a reletively short life span. LEDs seemed to be the logical choice. Unfortunately commercially available LED fixtures are a little pricey. I'm new to this hobby, but I've worked in electronics for the past 35 years, so I fabricated a light of the size I need (6x3 inch lighting area) for a total of about eight bucks. I bought 20 5mm white LEDs with a 470 ohm current limiting resistors like the one in the photo below for $1 with $4.95 shipping from a Hong Kong vender on eBay.
LEDs.JPG
I then aquired a 2 sided plastic pencil box from a dollar store for a dollar.
Pencil Box.JPG
After the removal some of the internal dividers, I cut a window for the light to shine through, drilled 18 holes to mount the leds, and mounted them by anchoring them from behind with hot glue. I don't think they will run hot enough to remelt the glue. They haven't after running 6 hours.
circuit.JPG