Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2010, 10:44 PM   #11
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
you stay at those quite often.. frequent sleeper discount?
Who says I sleep?
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:48 PM   #12
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by HN1 View Post
Who says I sleep?
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:50 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
No problem, just use the computer to program it then it will run on it's own, with a battery back up in case of power loss.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
I am getting my BS in EE and use expresspcb all the time to build circuits. Expresspcb is very easy to use. You just drag parts around and add traces. When done, you click on a box that lets you directly order the boards. A few days later and you have them at your door. They drill the hole and cut the traces for you. You then solder the parts onto the board. You can even go pro and have silk screening and solder mask added. Very high quality!

Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 01:00 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
Ya I was more looking for the Circuit design... like the parts that I will need for a certain function... I already know how to piece the boards together I just don't know the components I will need... I just need like 10 min of a professionals time... and am willing to pay :-p
__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 01:45 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Im guessing this is some sort of control system for your tank? Things will depend on whether you are going to have an external controller (laptop or desktop ect) send output from a program to switches or if you want a microcontroller to be on board with the switches. Im guessing you are going to want a microprocessor to be on board along with the switches it will control?

If you post some details such as what it should do, and how, I am sure others here with some better experience will chime in. You will need someone to write a program and load it to a microprocessor for one.

Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 02:08 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
I'm looking for a switching board that will switch on/off things in order but really I would like to talk to someone about it... I'm willing to phone anywhere in the world... someone... anyone
__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 02:15 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
I sent one in to an online circuit consulting service and am waiting on a quote to have one made for me... but I would still prefer to talk to someone as they say it will be up to 2 weeks before I get a response.
__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 02:30 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Sounds like a good job for a simple microcontroller. I dont have much experience with microcontrollers yet. (Still working on that degree ) Sounds like a neat LED lighting display for an aquarium.

Depending on how complex you want to make things, you could get by with a microcontroller turning on and off LEDs via some transistors. The hard part would be writing the code. (well if you have no experience with that).

Any other EE folks here? You may want to take this to another forum. I am a member over at 4hv.org. Lots of EEs and computer programmers over there. Youll likely get free advice if you give a bit more details, or you can easily find several eager EEs willing to do it for a price.

Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 02:31 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
I know you really just want to talk to someone offline about the idea and won't elaborate on your super secret project - I may be slow sometimes, but even *I* figured that much out! But have you looked in to the abilities of something like Neptune Systems Apex AquaController? If you put your thinking cap on, there's not much you can't do/control with that unit. It is probably quicker and easier to use it as a controller to test out whatever it is you're thinking of. And then if things pan out and you want to market whatever it is commercially, you can then worry about getting custom stuff made and lowering your costs. My nickel's worth...
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Sump Designs... Branew DIY Projects 11 04-15-2009 01:37 PM
DIY closed loop circuit with Calfo-style return manifold ... 20 20 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 10-09-2006 08:42 PM
MH best way to hookup w/o blowing a circuit? xxnonamexx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-25-2006 12:51 AM
How much electricity is too much draw for one circuit? zuzecawi General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 02-13-2006 09:46 PM
Sump Designs masterchief117 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-29-2002 01:01 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.