Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2011, 03:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: El paso, Tx
Posts: 68
Co2 for planted freshwater

I've seen plans for diy co2 bottles all of them were 2 liter bottles. Is it possible to do it bigger so I wouldn't have to change it out as often? I was thinking of a 5 gallon water jug.
__________________

__________________
stephens0813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 03:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
It's possible, but it would get expensive. If you really need a CO2 system that large, consider going to a pressurized system. The buy-in cost is higher, but the upkeep is a lot cheaper and neater and the results are better. I've done both DIY CO2 and pressurized CO2 and the pressurized system wins hands down, even thought I've only been running it for a week.

If you watch craigslist and eBay and have a little luck, you can do a pressurized system for a decent price. I've got $35 into mine (soon to be $70 with a hydrotest and a refill), but I should be able to run for years with my one tank or run all my tanks for a year or so.
__________________

__________________
“A man's errors are his portals of discovery.”
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 04:52 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I have to agree with Jim here on the pressurized system.

Also, having bigger bottles won't increase the amount of time between changes too much, it'll primarily just increase the amount of CO2 it's able to produce in the same amount of time.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 07:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: El paso, Tx
Posts: 68
Ok thanks guys.
__________________
stephens0813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, freshwater, plant, planted

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New (again) to planted freshwater aquariums neenie Member Introductions 4 02-26-2011 06:31 PM
90 gallon freshwater planted brutus Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 60 08-06-2009 09:19 PM
Anyone using T-5 Lighting on their Freshwater Planted? dapellegrini Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 24 10-05-2006 11:47 PM
38 gal freshwater planted. lighting help. PeterB Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 03-29-2006 03:30 PM
55 gal freshwater planted... with new driftwood! Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 9 10-08-2005 04:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.