Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2006, 07:03 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
CO2 Reactor

Just finished building a pair of inline CO2 reactors for use with my FW Nano Tanks. Used 1" PVC and fittings, and filled each with 60 x 1/2" Nano Balls. A ViaAqua 180 water pump will be used with each reactor. I will test them for leaks tomorrow, after they've had 24 hours to cure.

Used plans from here as a basis for the reactors.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 05:01 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Very nice! Dims of the final product? Look forward to results. Mind taking a baseline CO2 reading of tap and with your old reactor too for comparison?
__________________

__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:05 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Overall length including the barbed fitting is 9 3/4". The width including the barbed fitting at the widest part is 3 3/4" . Depth including the airline connector is 2". Without fittings the dimensions are 8 1/2", 2 3/4", & 1 1/2".

Baseline Tap CO2
KH = 50ppm
PH = 7.4
CO2 = 3.35ppm

My CO2 has been running between 15ppm and 25ppm with the old diffuser, a RedSea CO2 Reactor 200. Most of the readings are closer to 15ppm. I'll try to get some current readings later, since I didn't get around to testing or installing the new diffuser yet.

UPDATE

I did the leak check this morning and both reactors passed with flying colors. Yeah!

I also tested both tanks for CO2 levels this morning about 1 hour before the lights are scheduled to come on. That means that these are probably pretty close to the highest that the CO2 will be all day.

Baseline 2.5 CO2
KH = 100ppm
PH = 7.0
CO2 = 16.85ppm

Baseline 5 CO2
KH = 80ppm
PH = 7.2
CO2 = 8.51ppm

Neither of the passive diffusers have been working as they are supposed to lately, but the results on the 5 Gallon definately explain why I've been having problems with BBA lately. The results for the 2.5 Gallon were right where I expected both tanks to be running.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 04:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Exellent documentation so far Purrbox..

The reactors look great as well.. Good Work!
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 11:12 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Well I finally got the CO2 reactors hooked up tonight. I'm seriously considering picking up some extra fittings so that I can neaten up how the tubing goes into and out of the tank. Right now they're just bent into place, and it's bugging me how they look. Other than that, they seem to be working great. I'll take a CO2 reading in a few days to see how well they're actually diffusing CO2.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 10:48 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
I've bought some additonal fittings and have cleaned up the uptake and output tubes on the 5.5 Gallon yesterday. I'll be doing the same for the 2.5 Gallon today. It looks MUCH neater. Plus I'm replacing the clear tubing with black, which will hide it better with the black background that is already on the 2.5 Gallon and in the works for the 5.5 Gallon.

Did some testing today and here are the new stats using the new reactors.

New 2.5 CO2
KH = 90ppm
PH = 6.4
CO2 = 60.39ppm 8O

New 5.5 CO2
KH = 70ppm
PH = 6.4
CO2 = 46.97ppm 8O

Needless to say, these results are quite a bit better than I was aiming for. The 2.5 Gallon doesn't currently have any inhabitants, so I'm not too worried about it right now. I would like to get some Cherry Red Shrimp for it eventually, so I may have to try decreasing the efficiency of the reactor before adding them. Everyone in the 5.5 Gallon appears perfectly happy with no signs of stress, so I'm not worried about the slightly elevated levels in that tank.

I suspect that this same design could probably be used in upto a 10 Gallon tank without modification. For larger tanks, it would probably be necessary to enlarge the reactor some.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 08:46 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Wow! Very impressive.
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:02 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60
The reactor looks awesome Joy.

I will be building my inline reactor within the next week. Any advice?

Dan
__________________
resiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 04:22 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Just make sure to everything bought that you're going to need to assemble them. Then get everything gathered together and laid out so you don't have to go running around looking for things. Take your time and they'll go together really easily.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 11:14 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 1,864
I know this a newbee question but what is the order of your setup? which is the in line to the reactor and which is the out? I think it is the one on top of the straight part but this is not something I will be comfortable guessing at.
__________________

__________________
fish_4_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
co2 reactor volvolater Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 12-08-2008 05:18 PM
CO2 Reactor happygirl65 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 02-27-2008 09:18 PM
My first co2 reactor Peyton DIY Projects 9 03-15-2007 10:22 AM
Aqua Medic Membrane Diffuser vs. Reactor 1000 co2 reactor AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-30-2004 01:17 AM
co2 w/pump & reactor or co2 straght in filter? jubei Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-04-2003 09:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.